It is the goal of the Scott County Area Plan Commission and the Scott County Building Commission to provide the public with information and guidance concerning development, zoning district regulations, subdivision regulations, permit procedures, floodplain boundaries, planning statistics, property information, construction guidance and other information relevant to land use and the orderly development of our community. We welcome your comments and questions and we look forward to working with you on your next project!

April, Ashlee and Lee


Area Plan Commission

The Area Plan Commission is defined by state statute. The Plan Commission consists of a seven (7) member panel, containing a mixture of both elected officials, citizen members and others who are selected by virtue of their office.

The Plan Commission holds public hearings relating to petitions for rezone, subdivision plats, development plans, and amendments to local zoning ordinances. As defined by law, in matters of rezoning and amendment petitions, the Commission acts in an advisory capacity by making a recommendation and forwarding the petition to the County Board of Commissioners or the Scottsburg City Council for final action. In matters regarding subdivision plat and development plan approval, the APC Board action is final.

The Area Plan Commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Commissioners' Meeting Room of the Courthouse (Room 128). These meetings are open to the public.

There are filing deadlines for petitions that must be met before a public hearing will be scheduled. Please call our office for additional information. 

Dale Hobbs, President

Mark Whittymore, Vice President

Stanley Allen

Mark Gardner

Eddie Cozart 

Megan Voyles

Chris Wakeman

April Ramoni, Executive Director 

Greg Fifer, Attorney


Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals is defined by state statute and consists of five (5) members.

The Board of Zoning Appeals is defined by law as a quasi-judicial board, which means that the decisions that they make are final, and can only be overturned by a judge in a court of law.

The Board of Zoning Appeals hears a variety of petitions, including variances to the local zoning ordinances, special exceptions, use variances and conditional uses. This Board meets once a month, on the second Wednesday, at 6:00 p.m. These meetings are open to the public.

The Board of Zoning Appeal's clerical support staff is located in the Scott County Area Plan Commission office. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Gary Green, Chairman

Dale Hobbs, Vice-Chairman

Sandee Owens

Mark Whittymore

Don Wilkerson

April Ramoni, Secretary to the Board

Greg Fifer, Attorney

2017 Dates to Remember

Meeting Date             Last Day to Apply

January 11                  December 19, 2016

February 8                 January 23, 2017

March 8                       February 21

April 12                       March 27

May 10                        April 24

June 14                          May 30

July 12                          June 26

August 9                       July 24

September 13               August 28

October 11                   September 25

November 8                 October 23

December 13                 November 27

January 10, 2018          December 22, 2017


Meetings are held in the Scott County Courthouse, Room 128 unless otherwise noted or a meeting grows so large that it is necessary to change locations.

 NOTE: Application deadline allows time for processing and publication.


Plan Commission
Scott County Courthouse
1 E. McClain Avenue, Suite G40
Scottsburg, Indiana 47170
(812) 752-8445 option 1
April Ramoni, Director
Ashlee Campbell, Assistant

Building Commission
Scott County Courthouse
1 E. McClain Avenue, Suite G40
Scottsburg, Indiana 47170
(812) 752-8445 option 2
Lee Gay, Inspector


Important Numbers

City of Scottsburg (812) 752-4343

City of Austin (812) 794-2877

County Health Department (812) 752-8455

County Highway Department (812) 752-8470

Saegessar Engineering (812) 752-8123

Bureau of Motor Vehicles (812) 752-4045

Midwest Natural Gas (812) 752-2230

Ferrellgas (812) 752-4832 

Jackson County REMC (812) 358-4458

Clark County REMC (812) 246-3316

Duke Energy (800) 777-9898

Stucker Fork (812) 794-0650

APC Logo